I Am Still Alive… And I Am Going Back to Australia

My second year of studying in Scotland is nearly over and it is about time to go back to Melbourne. Of course, I am super excited, but it still feels very surreal. When I am telling people about FINALLY going back to Australia, it feels like I am making this up – as if I was telling fairy tales.

There are about a million things that I have planned to do before my flight and my imaginary to-do list is about ten pages long (it is only imaginary, because writing it down would freak me out too much). Apart from submitting my last essay, writing my last exam, getting my visa and co., I set myself the goal to do my Australia Photobook 2016/17 (shame on me – I still haven’t done it).

20190501_150820

I might share some of the organisational stuff once I have figured it out myself, but for now I am still in the early stages. This blogpost is just me being excited about my new journey. Here are a couple of things than I cannot wait for:

My Australian fam: My family is Australia is probably what I have missed most. It was super difficult leaving them behind, after I had spent such a wonderful year with them. Every day, I am getting more excited and knowing that I soon get to spend time with them, makes me so happy.

The city: Do you know these places where you instantly feel amazing and which feel like home from the very first second? I had this feeling in a lot of Australian cities and towns and Melbourne was definitely one of them. It’s just such a happy place for me.

The weather: Obviously. After living in Scotland for two years, all I need is some vitamin D. I am looking forward to less rain, more sun and those really hot days by the pool or at the beach. The dark, long winters in Glasgow were certainly not my cup of tea and I am more than ready for some nice weather.

University: I am going to Melbourne as a uni student. This means that I will get a totally different experience to the one I had two years ago. Going to university is not going to be the same as being an Au Pair with an office part-time job, but it changes things up a bit.

That’s all for now. Talk to you soon xx

See ya

Julia

 


 

Mein zweites Jahr als Studentin in Schottland ist fast vorbei und es ist an der Zeit, dass ich zurück nach Melbourne gehe. Ich freue mich schon total, aber es fühlt sich auch noch sehr surreal an. Wenn ich Leuten erzähle, dass ich ENDLICH zurück nach Australien gehe, fühlt es sich so an, als würde ich mir das alles nur ausdenken – als ob ich Märchen erzählen würde.

Es gibt noch tausende Dinge, die ich vor meinem Flug geplant habe und meine imaginäre To-Do Liste ist ca. zehn Seiten lang (sie ist nur imaginär, weil eine Schriftliche mich wahnsinnig machen würde). Ich muss noch meine letzte Hausarbeit einreichen, einen Test schreiben, mein Visum beantragen und so weiter. Was ich auch noch vorhabe ist, mein Australien Fotobuch 2016/17 zu beenden (Schande über mich – ich habe es immer noch nicht fertig).

Vielleicht werde ich ein paar organisatorische Sachen teilen, sobald ich mich selbst ein bisschen besser auskenne, aber davon bin ich noch etwas entfernt. Dieser Blogpost ist einfach nur ein kleiner Teaser über meine nächste Reise. Hier sind ein paar Dinge, auf die ich mich schon besonders freue:

Meine australische Familie: Meine Familie in Australien ist sicherlich, was ich am meisten vermisst habe. Es war super schwierig sie zu verlassen, nachdem ich so ein wundervolles Jahr mit ihnen verbracht habe. Jeden Tag steigt meine Vorfreude und zu wissen, dass ich sie bald wieder sehen werde, macht mich sehr glücklich.

Die Stadt: Kennt ihr die Orte, an denen man sich sofort wohl fühlt und die sich von der ersten Minute an, nach Zuhause anfühlen? Ich hatte dieses Gefühl an vielen Orten in Australien und Melbourne war auf jeden Fall einer davon. Ich verbinde so viele positive Erinnerungen mit der Stadt.

Das Wetter: Selbstverständlich. Nachdem ich zwei Jahre in Schottland gelebt habe, brauche ich endlich mal ein bisschen Vitamin D. Ich freue mich auf weniger Regen, mehr Sonne und die wirklich heißen Tage am Pool oder am Strand. Die langen, dunklen Winter in Glasgow sind mir nicht so gut bekommen und ich bin bereit für etwas schöneres Wetter.

Die Universität: Ich werde als Austauschstudent nach Melbourne gehen. Daher werden meine Erfahrungen ganz anders, als vor zwei Jahren sein. Das Studium wird selbstverständlich nicht das gleiche wie meine Au Pair Erfahrung sein, aber es bringt ein bisschen Abwechslung.

Das wars mit dem heutigen Blogpost. Bis bald xx

See ya

Julia

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑